School on the Move Prize

Mayor Marty J. Walsh; EdVestors CEO, Laura Perille; Bates Principal, Andrew Vega: Chairman & CEO, Plymouth Rock Assurance Corporation, James M. Stone, PhD; EdVestors Board Chair, Wendell Knox

The Thomas W. Payzant School on the Move Prize presented by EdVestors is Boston’s premier award for public school improvement and a coveted honor for schools across our city. The annual $100,000 Prize recognizes one of the most improving Boston Public Schools each fall. Despite the many real challenges facing urban schools, each year a number of public schools document rapid student progress that outpaces the rest of the district.

Through the Prize selection process, EdVestors seeks to understand how and why certain schools are able to accelerate student achievement. EdVestors engages a select panel of civic and business leaders to dive deep into the stories of these rapidly improving schools and select one winner and two finalists each year. Through a case study of the winning school and incorporating what we learn into the rest of our work, we help more schools make significant progress to improve education outcomes for all students.

The School on the Move Prize is presented each fall at a breakfast event that draws close to 300 guests and is an inspiring reminder of the hard work and innovation that can improve schools. The Prize is awarded in front of an audience of Boston’s leaders in education, the nonprofit sector, philanthropy, and business. Please join us on November 1st to celebrate the 12th Annual winner of the School on the Move Prize!


School on the Move 2017

2017 School on the Move Finalists 

Patrick J. Kennedy Elementary School

Donald McKay K-8 School

Mildred Avenue K-8 Boston

Prize Criteria & Finalists


Each spring, EdVestors invites a select group of Boston public schools to apply for the School on the Move Prize based on a rigorous quantitative screen of student achievement using historical and current MCAS and PARCC data.  The criteria identify schools with improvement that is 50% greater than the average district improvement rate in one or both core subjects (English Language Arts and Math), as compared to schools serving similar grades, with additional criteria related to school performance, student demographics, and graduation rates for high schools.

Typically, only 5-10% of schools each year meet the eligibility criteria and receive invitations to apply for the Prize. Invited schools are asked to prepare a written Prize application that details how they achieved dramatic improvement and outlines the strategies and best practices they employed. EdVestors’ Prize Selection Panel reviews applications and conducts site visits before announcing the winner at our annual Prize Ceremony.

School on the Move Prize applications are accepted from Boston Public Schools by invitation only.

2017 Invited Schools

Elementary Schools

Manassah Bradley Elementary School

Phineas Bates Elementary School *

Edward Everett Elementary School

Harvard Kent Elementary School

Patrick J. Kennedy Elementary School

Thomas J. Kenny Elementary School

The Mather Elementary School

James Otis Elementary School

William E. Russell Elementary School

K-8 Schools

Joseph J. Hurley K-8 School

Donald McKay K-8 School

Mildred Avenue K-8 School

Oliver Perry K-8 School

UP Academy Dorchester

Young Achievers Science and Math Pilot K-8

High Schools

Jeremiah E. Burke High School *


*Previous winners of the School on the Move Prize are not eligible for consideration until five years after their win. Former School on the Move winners the Phineas Bates Elementary School (2016) and the Jeremiah E. Burke High School (2015) met all screening criteria in 2017 and we salute their continued effort to improve.