School on the Move Prize

Congratulations to the 2020 School on the Move Prize Finalists

Charles Sumner Elementary School

Edward M. Kennedy Academy for Health Careers

F. Lyman Winship Elementary School

Register now to attend the virtual 15th annual School on the Move Prize Ceremony to celebrate the three finalist schools and announce the winning school on October 28 from 3:00-4:00pm via Zoom.


About the Prize

Through the Prize selection process, EdVestors seeks to understand how and why certain schools are able to accelerate student achievement. Each fall, EdVestors engages a select panel of civic and business leaders to dive deep into the stories of these rapidly improving schools and select one $100,000 winner and two finalists each year. Through a case study of the winning school and incorporating what we learn into the rest of our work, we help more schools make significant progress to improve education outcomes for all students.

The School on the Move Prize is presented each fall is an inspiring reminder of the hard work and innovation that can improve schools. The Prize is awarded in front of an audience of Boston’s leaders in education, the nonprofit sector, philanthropy, and business.

Prize Criteria & Finalists


Each spring, EdVestors invites a select group of Boston public schools to apply for the School on the Move Prize based on a rigorous quantitative screen of student achievement using historical and current state standardized assessment data.  The criteria identify schools with improvement that is substantially higher than their peers’ in one or both core subjects (English Language Arts and Math), as compared to BPS schools serving similar grades, with additional criteria related to school performance, student demographics, and graduation rates for high schools.

Typically, only 5-10% of schools each year meet the eligibility criteria and receive invitations to apply for the Prize. Invited schools are asked to prepare a written Prize application that details how they achieved dramatic improvement and outlines the strategies and best practices they employed. EdVestors’ Prize Selection Panel reviews applications and conducts site visits before announcing the winner at our annual Prize Ceremony.

School on the Move Prize applications are accepted from Boston Public Schools by invitation only.

2020 Eligible Schools

Elementary Schools

Dante Alighieri Montessori

Edward Everett Elementary

Curtis Guild Elementary

Nathan Hale Elementary

Dennis C. Haley Elementary

Harvard-Kent Elementary*

Thomas J. Kenny Elementary

James Otis Elementary

Charles Sumner Elementary

Winship Elementary


K-8 Schools

William H. Ohrenberger 3-8

Hurley K-8

Tobin K-8


High Schools

Jeremiah E. Burke High School*

East Boston High School

Edward M. Kennedy Academy for Health Careers


* NOTE: Two former School on the Move winners, the Harvard-Kent Elementary School (2019), the Jeremiah E. Burke High School (2015) met all screening criteria but Prize winners are not eligible to apply for five years after their win.