School on the Move Prize

Through the Prize selection process, EdVestors seeks to understand how and why certain schools are able to accelerate student achievement. Each fall, EdVestors engages a select panel of civic and business leaders to dive deep into the stories of these rapidly improving schools and select one $100,000 winner and two finalists each year. Through a case study of the winning school and incorporating what we learn into the rest of our work, we help more schools make significant progress to improve education outcomes for all students.

The School on the Move Prize is presented each fall at a breakfast event that draws close to 300 guests and is an inspiring reminder of the hard work and innovation that can improve schools. The Prize is awarded in front of an audience of Boston’s leaders in education, the nonprofit sector, philanthropy, and business.

The 2018 School on the Move Prize finalists are Donald McKay K-8 School, Oliver Hazard Perry K-8 School, and Muriel S. Snowden International High School.

Prize Criteria & Finalists


Each spring, EdVestors invites a select group of Boston public schools to apply for the School on the Move Prize based on a rigorous quantitative screen of student achievement using historical and current MCAS and PARCC data.  The criteria identify schools with improvement that is 50% greater than the average district improvement rate in one or both core subjects (English Language Arts and Math), as compared to schools serving similar grades, with additional criteria related to school performance, student demographics, and graduation rates for high schools.

Typically, only 5-10% of schools each year meet the eligibility criteria and receive invitations to apply for the Prize. Invited schools are asked to prepare a written Prize application that details how they achieved dramatic improvement and outlines the strategies and best practices they employed. EdVestors’ Prize Selection Panel reviews applications and conducts site visits before announcing the winner at our annual Prize Ceremony.

School on the Move Prize applications are accepted from Boston Public Schools by invitation only.

2018 Invited Schools

Elementary Schools

Henry Grew Elementary School

Phineas Bates Elementary School*

Edward Everett Elementary School

Harvard Kent Elementary School

Mather Elementary School

K-8 Schools

BTU K-8 School

Donald McKay K-8 School

Oliver Perry K-8 School

High Schools

New Mission High School

Muriel S. Snowden International School


NOTE: Only those schools meeting all the criteria are invited to apply each year.  One former School on the Move winner, the Phineas Bates Elementary School (2016), met all screening criteria but Prize winners are not eligible to apply for five years after their win.